top of page
Origins of an Icon
Trincas debuted at its present location on Park Street as a tea-room and bakery in 1939.
In 1959 it changed ownership and has evolved over the years, adding cuisines, live entertainment, and secret spaces.
This is probably the most unique restaurant in the city. It has history and a cultural legacy. Every true-blue Calcutta family has a story about Trincas.
1960S & 1970S
In July 1959 Om Prakash Puri and Ellis Joshua acquired Trincas from a Swiss gentleman - Cinzio Trinca - and converted the tea-room to a restaurant. To this, they added live ”floor shows” and over the next few years made it the most popular restaurant on Park Street.